Baby Fever..

photo

So the saying goes: “First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes baby in the baby carriage.”

As juvenile as this singalong rhyme sounds, it is that gateway to women and the way that they think. It becomes apart of “The List”. This list goes along the lines of: go to school, find a guy, fall in love, get married, have a baby, find a career that allows for both work and raising a family. But this isn’t about finding the right career, today is about babies.

So let’s talk babies…..they’re cute, cuddly, cry a lot, poop a lot, eat a lot, wear out your titties, tear up your lady parts, and are life’s GREATEST pride and joy. So when can I have one? I want to experience nature’s greatest gift and the “labor of love”! When will my time come to have babies? Is there ever a right time to have a baby? Are you ever ready to have a baby?

These are all questions that have been running through my mind lately. Getting married as young as Josh and I did, people suspected that we were pregnant. Even till this day, every time that I head to the doctor, people get this weird smile on their face that says, “You’re pregnant aren’t you?”, all I want to do is yell back to them “PEOPLE!! It’s been six months, I am pretty sure I would have been showing!!” Then they realize I’m not pregnant, say that it’s good and to wait, and then a month later start asking “When are you guys going to have kids?”  It’s a cycle that has left me asking myself….when do I want to have a baby?

After being married for the first few months, I was told over and OVER again to wait. My parents told me to enjoy myself, have fun, and get to know Josh because once a baby comes into the pic your whole life revolves around that baby. This all being said I decided to make a list:

The “Before Baby” List:

  • Travel to your Europe (for like a month, backpack style) and see EVERYTHING
  • See Coldplay in concert (btw they have a new album out in April…SO EXCITED!!)
  • Walk the Great Wall of China
  • Go to school and finish your AA
  • Figure out what you want to do with your life
  • Get a puppy/train puppy
  • Move into a bigger apartment/condo
  • Loose a few lbs.
  • Adopt an all organic food diet
  • Run a marathon
  • Run a thousand miles
  • Get a Marc Jacobs purse (I have an obsession but am too cheap to spend the money)
  • Design a wedding gown
  • Make a batch of my grandma’s Chilean Empanadas
  • Become fluent in spanish
  • Get over my awkward fear of elevators
  • Learn to not eat so much chocolate on my period

When I first made this list I was so determined to complete ALL of these goals. NOTHING would get in my way….you couldn’t offer me a million dollars to have a baby (Yes I can be stubborn) I was proud of my list and was going to follow through. So, I told my friend and family about “The List”….mistake. Soon, people were jokingly telling me that they would help fund my European excursion and my get me a puppy. I was SO FRUSTRATED! I felt like I was for ONCE in my life, I was listening to people around me and taking their advice….just to be asked a few months later “So when you popping one out?” With all of these comments….I became baby crazy. I looked up baby pictures, strolled through the baby clothes at target, stalked the nursery at church…..it was (mildly still is) a bad case of Baby Fever. I felt like every where I looked there were babies and I was the only one without a baby.

After a few weeks of this, I decided to look online “when is the best time to have a baby”. Google did it’s job well in giving me quizzes, forums, blogs….it gave me EVERYTHING. I read, read, and read. I read that after two years of being married was the perfect time, I read that conceiving on the wedding night was the best thing that could happen to a couple, one year after being married, a year an a half….so many opinions. Then there were the “is your body in the right condition to have a baby” forums and all the precautions you need to take and all the vitamins….blah, blah, BLAH! All of the information hurt my head.

What I decided from all this craziness is that (and this is my personal opinion) no one is ever ready to have a baby. Having a baby is like getting a tattoo on your forehead (people who get it usually aren’t cognitively aware that it happened……until the next morning) it is PERMANENT. At the end of the day though, they become life’s greatest gift.

So what does this mean for me? Am I going to have a baby anytime soon? No, probably not. I know that I would love to spend as much time with Josh and travel. Traveling to Europe may have to wait until later though……you never know what a bottle of wine can do on any given night 😉

Cheers to our future babies,

KD

Photo Credit: http://jenniferyoungphoto.com/#!/3/Babies/5

Leave a Reply

