The Great Outdoors & The Perfect Post-Wedding Workout

Great Outdoors

Happy Monday everybody!

I hope you all had a fantastic weekend and were able to rest/recharge for this week and upcoming weekend!!!!! I can’t hold it in any longer……….I’m SUPER DUPER excited for this Valentine’s Day weekend with my hubby! ๐Ÿ˜€ Turns out that I am be taken away on a “surprise get-away weekend” and have no clue where we are going! (excited squeal/happy dance) ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes yes I know….you now are all jealous because I have the best husband ever ๐Ÿ˜‰ ย BUT really…………how romantic is that!!! He’s the best (gazing off and day dreaming about how amazing he is…<3 ) Don’t worry though, I will fill you all in on all the details next week!

Now back to reality….it’s Monday and with that weekend high gone and the work week just beginning, I know you’re feeling those Monday Blues. (Unless you are super excited for this Valentine’s Day weekend because your hubby is taking you away & you don’t have to go to work on Friday ๐Ÿ˜€ ) In spite of the Monday Blues though, I wanted to share a little piece of my weekend with you all.

Now if any of you know me, you know that I LOVE the outdoors. Being in nature (or really just being outside) truly inspires me……there’s just so much beauty!! Having Josh enjoy the outdoors about just as much as I do, makes him the BEST companion for all of the types of outdoor adventures, that I love. He’s really perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

One of my favorite activities in the outdoors is hiking! It’s a great way to spend time with your spouse and stay healthy after the wedding! I remember when everything came to a calm…..after working so hard to get into shape and STAYING in shape for the wedding, I let myself have some fun for a few weeks. I had a treat here and a treat there, which was really way too many treats……..period. After a few hikes in the hills and getting back to my wholesome eating though, I was feeling back in tip top shape! It’s really a great activity for not only staying healthy, as well as being an amazing stress reliever, but also enjoying nature with someone that you love!

So this weekend Josh and I finally decided to take a hike in the Laguna Canyon Wilderness Park. We have been telling ourselves for over three months now that we would take this hike and FINALLY did. And let me say that it was by far one of the BEST hikes!! With beautiful sweeping views of the ocean, lots of cacti, squirming lizards (which grosses me out, to be honest), and plenty of wild plants, it was a sight to not miss. I truly believe that we live in one of the most beautiful places!

Check out the pics below! Hopefully you get inspired by the beauty of the outdoors, just as much as I do! ๐Ÿ™‚

The Hike:

  • ย Miles: 7.15
  • Amount of Fluids Drank: 96 oz.
  • Number of Lizards: 12 (plus one GINORMOUS lizard that looked like a snake….EWWWWWWWWW)
  • Number of Snakes: 0 (Thank you Jesus)
  • Number of Cacti: Too many to count
  • Number of squirrels: two
  • Number of birds: 32
  • Number of Mountain Bikers: Too many to count
  • Number of pictures taken: Not enough because my battery died (hitting forehead with palm)
  • Number of times we felt lost: 0 because we’re awesome like that! ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Number of people that said Hi!: 25
  • Number of tourists: about 9
  • Number of beautiful views and memories made: countless
My Studly Hiking Guide

My Studly Hiking Guide

Blog_959

Cool earthquake fault!

Cool earthquake fault!

DSC_0012

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0022

King of the rock!

King of the rock!

Blog_960

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

Along the trail we saw so many beautiful plants, ferns, and trees that I had to get close ups on….

DSC_0048

DSC_0035

DSC_0041

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0058

DSC_0062

We then came upon this somewhat ominous looking road and……

Blog_961

…..were greeted byt this strange creature:

DSC_0043

DSC_0064

While hiking I couldn’t help but think what a PERFECT Surprise Engagement setting, this hike would be……….Any takers? ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSC_0003

Needless to say, Josh and I had an amazing time exploring nature and getting an AMAZING workout! Hiking uphill for three miles will get your heartbeat raising ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cheers to a new week and new possibilities!

Au Revoir for now,

KD

Leave a Reply

